BREAKING: SUSU Elections 2016 Candidates Announced


Wessex Scene can now officially announce the candidates running in this year’s SUSU Elections. 

The same number of Sabbatical positions are available this year, and while there are more candidates running for Sabbatical positions in total (18), there are three uncontested positions. Including student leaders and trustees, there are 56 candidates in total.

Vice President Democracy and Creative Industries, Kerry Sclater said:

We have more sabb candidates than last year and more student leader nominations than ever before. We also have more inexperienced people running which is a positive sign.

Here is the full list of candidates:

Union President:

  • Zehong Au
  • Sam Bailey
  • Thomas Gravatt
  • Alex Hovden
  • Liibaan Mohamed

VP Communities

  • Rebecca Lake
  • Flora Noble
  • Ruchika Menon


  • Michael Clarke
  • Matthew Drummond
  • Cameron Meldrum
  • Bryony Newman

VP Education:

  • Elliot Grater


VP Engagement:

  • Dan Varley


VP Sports:

  • Thomas Provan

VP Welfare:

  • David Allwright
  • George Seabrook
  • Christina Vinothan

Student Trustee:

  • Mark Coles
  • Hadeeka Taj

MedSoc Pres:

  • Josh Adeyoju
  • Jahangir Jingy Alom
  • Rebecca Duffield

Natural Environmental Sciences Faculty Officer:

  • Yousra Hikal

Winchester President:

  • Rebecca Willis

Student Groups Officer:

  • Bradley Bell
  • Michael Sims

Edge Editor:

  • Anneka Honeyball

Wessex Scene Editor:

  • Alice Hearing
  • Kokulan Mahendrian


  • Danny Rickard
  • Alex Smith

Surge Station Manager:

  • Toby Leveson

Union Films:

  • Max Hayman
  • Alexander Petrov
  • Evelyn Reilly

International Students Officer:

  • Tzu-Wei Lu

Postgraduate Research Officer:

  • Giles Howard

Halls Officer:

  • Arun Aggarwal
  • William Coussens
  • Sam Higman

Humanities Faculty Officer:

  • Sam Dedman
  • Liana (Phoebe) Nickless Dent

Business, Law and Art Faculty Officer:

  • Hale Bener

Physical Sciences and Engineering Faculty Officer:

  • Anthony Kenny

Social, Human and Mathematical Sciences Faculty Officer:

  • James Edwards
  • Thomas Fahey

Health Sciences Faculty Officer:

  • Bradley Sewell

NOC Officer:

  • Greg Williams

RAG President:

  • Isobelle Worall

Housing Officer:

  • Louise Bellamy
  • Dan Browning

Intra-Mural Officer:

  • Deanna Rex

AU Officer:

  • Jack Harvey

Equality and Diversity Officer:

  • Frazer Delves

Ethics and Environmental Officer:

  • Elanor Davis

Positions with no candidates are: –

Engineering and Environment Faculty Officer, Nightline Officer, Wellbeing Officer, Charities and Communities Officer, Sports Participation Officer, Student Enterprise Officer, Sustainability Officer.

All candidates run against Re-Open Nominations (RON).


Editor 2015-16. Politics Editor 2014-15. Third year Politics and Economics student, I've written for every section but primarily write politics, opinion and news pieces. I also write for The Edge, Kettle Mag, The National Student, The Student Times and the Independent and do lots of work with Surge Radio.

Leave A Reply