ETAs and CRAs Winners Announced


Last night SUSU held their annual Excellence in Teaching Awards (ETAs) and saw the return of the Course Rep Awards (CRAs).

For the ETAs, there were five categories in which students were able to nominate academic staff, through the SUSU website.

These categories were: Outstanding Lecturer, Teaching and Learning Lifetime Achievement, Innovative Teaching, Best Feedback Provision and Contribution to Academic Support.

Students were also invited to submit nominations for the CRAs within six categories.

These categories were: Most committed to raising the profile of Education Zone, Commitment to the Zone (x3),Best Team of Academic Representatives, Best Individual commitment to the cause (x4) and Academic Rep of the Year.

This week has been a busy week for Awards ceremonies, as the Athletic Union Awards took place on 1st May, as well as the Intramural Awards which took place on 6th May, and the Excellence in Volunteering Awards on the 8th May.

The award-winners and highly commended runners-up for each category are as follows:


Innovative Teaching 

Winner – Professor George Attard

Runner up – Dr James Dyke

Best Use of Technology to Enhance Teaching

Winner – Oliver Bills

Runner up – Professor Graeme Earl

Best Feedback Provision

Winner – Dr Gareth Dyke

Runner up – Dr Bill Brocklesby

Contribution to Academic Support

Winner – Dr Alex Dickinson

Runner up – Claire Townsend

Outstanding Lecturer

Winner – Dr Nicholas Gibbins

Runner up – Professor Sabu Padmadas

Teaching and Learning Lifetime Achievement

Susan Smith



Most Committed to Raising the Profile of the Education Zone

Winner – Emily Postle

Runner up – Hattie Hall

Commitment to the Zone

Winner – Giles Howard

Winner – Louisa Healey

Winner – Frazer Delves

Best Individual Commitment to the Cause

Winner – Christian Vale

Winner – Minh Nguyen

Winner – Daniel Černin

Winner – Fiona Vincent

Best Team of Academic Representatives

Winner – Faculty of Medicine team

Runner up – Faculty of Social & Human Sciences Academic Vice Presidents team

Academic Rep of the Year

Winner – Miłosz Gaczkowski

Runner up – Rhys Thomas


BA English student at the University of Southampton and News Editor of the Wessex Scene 2014-2015.

Leave A Reply