Eight New Union Councillors Elected


susu-ticketsUnion Council – the highest decision-making body of SUSU – have elected eight new councillors to join the group for the rest of the year.

The idea of electing eight new candidates, in the positions of Open Councillors, was introduced last year to aid students who had developed an interest in – and who felt they could help improve – SUSU.

The successful candidates – in the order they were elected – were Sophie Van Eetvelt, Matthew Hicken, Simon Duncan, Joel Young, Laura Mason, David Gunns, Simon Boyce & Jack Kanani.

Seeing the number of people who put themselves forward made me incredibly proud.

David Gilani
VP Communications

Overall, 27 candidates stood for the positions, meaning they were hotly-contested with more than 70% of those who put themselves forward being unsuccessful. It showed a dramatic improvement from last year where not all the positions were filled.

Whilst only councillors can be vote at Union Council meetings, any student can attend and speak at the meetings about issues that they feel are important.

For more information, check out this blog by VP Communications David Gilani.


Discussion3 Comments

Leave A Reply