The Men’s 1st team have deservedly been crowned BUCS league champions after gaining an overall point difference of 332! SURFC finished 12 points clear of second place, Bath 4s.

From their first match against Bath Men’s 4 on 12th October 2011 through to their final match against Royal Agricultural College Men’s 1st on March 14th 2012, SURFC remained UNDEFEATED throughout, with 12 wins and just 1 draw. This is an unbelievable feat, but unsurprising given both the players individual and collective strength, determination and commitment to the game.

Individual match records are provided below.

Congratulations to all who contributed to the champion title (in alphabetical order) ;

Adam Davies, Alex Wright, Ali Hutson, Andrew Lace, Beau Strong, Ben Watkins, Benoit Briere, Berry Yirrell (Captain), Bobby Miller, Chris Hanson, Colin Russell, Daniel Beech Ed Laurent, Freddie Gleadowe, Henry Ritchie, Raffa, James Dallimore, Jamie Hitchcock, JC Thompson, John Shaw (Vice Captain), Jonny Colin, Luke Powis, Matt Ash, Matt Burleigh, Matt Lugg, Max Winpenny, Nathan Fitzpatrick, Ollie Lobbe, Pete Luscombe. Rhys Ambrose, Sam Burke, Sam Cornford, Seb Johannsson, Stephen Hegarty, Tom Child.

Coached by Junior Paramore.

Berry Yirrell and Beau strong were the only two players to have played every single game.

SURFC Statistics;

Top try scorer- Freddie Gleadowe

Top point scorer– Adam Davies

1st team player of the year– Adam Davies

A total of 16 fresher’s have played for the 1s this year.

So its farewell to the 3rd years who leave in June, but an exciting time for the current 1st and 2nd years who get promoted next season. Good luck!

A closing word from this season’s captain, Berry Yirrell

It was a privilege playing alongside everyone involved in the team

Berry Yirrell
SURFC Men's 1st Captain


Leave A Reply